From TV to smartphones The threefold digital transformation of the cult medium
TELETEXT

The threefold digital transformation of the cult medium
TELETEXT

The Teletext service of the SRF, RTS and RSI TV channels has already undergone three digital transformations since 1984. In the first one, Teletext was taken from the TV to pagers and mobile phones (SMS). In the second one, Teletext started using the new functionalities of the Internet. Since the third and most recent transformation, Teletext is providing a news service that can be accessed at any time from anywhere using a smartphone. Find out more about the evolution of the iconic Swiss news medium.
TV, pager, smartphone und Computer

The various vectors (pagers, smartphones, web).

BACKGROUND

In 1984, a new news medium conquered the living rooms of Switzerland: Teletext. For over 30 years now, Teletext has been a fixed and integral part of news dissemination in Switzerland. Originally only available on TVs, Teletext is now also available online and on mobile devices. With an average daily readership of one million and its unique pixel design, Teletext is probably the Swiss medium with the greatest cult appeal.

  • Over the years since its launch in 1984 on SRG SSR's TV channels, Teletext has evolved into one of the most popular information sources in Switzerland.
  • Domestic and global news, sport results, stock prices, traffic and weather bulletins, as well as news highlights are looked up by a highly diverse audience across all age brackets. The longstanding average number of users per day is around one million.
  • At the beginning of 2013, record user figures exceeding two million readers per day were recorded during major sporting events like the Winter Olympic Games, Swiss National Wrestling and Alpine Festival and national elections.
  • There are also attractive solutions for commercial advertisers and sponsors, thanks to our high degree of flexibility and relevance as well as contexts that are topical and relevant to various target groups.
  • The appearance of new digital and mobile communication and information platforms resulted in increasingly fragmented information and advertising channels.
  • Changing media usage with a trend towards "information that is available everywhere at all times".
  • New channels allowed Teletext to reach its users not only via the TV screen mainly in the evening at home, but also during the day in the office (at the computer) or while they are travelling, via their mobile phones.

 

OBJECTIVES / REQUIREMENTS

  • To transfer the strengths (USPs) of Teletext as an information and advertising platform to the new digital channels/products.
  • To retain existing users and advertisers and attract new ones.
  • To use the opportunities provided by the new technologies and connect the channels (cross media) to create added value for end users and advertisers.

 

Altes Handy

SMS.

Website von Teletext

teletext.ch.

Handy mit der App

Smartphone.

30 YEARS 
THREE TRANSFORMATIONS 
APPROACH

Teletext underwent three digital transformations over the course of 30 years. The new technological possibilities enabled Teletext to extend its reach from the living room to the whole world. Ultimately, PCs and mobile devices are nothing other than small TV screens.

  • Initial products on the principle of "exploiting the many new technological possibilities" with longer texts, images, a completely new layout and navigation.
  • A recognition that "more" is not necessarily "better".
  • Use of the new online channel was modest and the classic TV Teletext remained the most popular channel by a tremendous margin.
  • The SMS info services were very successful right from the start, because the 160 character limit supported the strengths of Teletext, i.e. "key facts in brief", available via simple query or subscription.

 

  • Breakthrough with the "898cross" strategy, with, by and large, a 1:1 replication of the classic TV Teletext on all channels. Direct access to the required information using familiar page numbers, whether via the TV remote, the keyboard or the touchscreen. And all of this in the iconic pixel design. Transfer of the main strengths to the new digital vectors: simple, fast and relevant thanks to a reduction to the essentials, high relevance and high credibility.

 

Teletext auf TV und Handy

TV and smartphone.

feature image

The use of digital products increased tenfold within a very short space of time.

feature image

The "key facts in brief" of Teletext are available to users everywhere at any time; simply and quickly.

feature image

Advertisers reach their target groups "everywhere and at any time" and, via the digital channels, even "interactively".

Beat Schneider

Your contact person

Beat Schneider
Head of Sales & Consulting
  • T +41 32 329 22 57

De la télévision aux smartphones La triple transformation numérique du média culte
TELETEXT

La triple transformation numérique du média culte
TELETEXT

Le Teletext des chaînes TV SRF, RTS et RSI a déjà subi trois transformations numériques depuis 1984. Une première étape a permis au Teletext de passer de la TV aux pagers et aux téléphones portables (SMS). Une deuxième étape a permis au Teletext d'utiliser les nouvelles possibilités du Web. Et la troisième et dernière étape a permis au Teletext de proposer un service d'information sur smartphones, qui peut être consulté partout et à toute heure. En savoir plus sur l'évolution du support d'information certainement le plus culte de Suisse.
TV, pager, smartphone und Computer

Les différents vecteurs (pagers, smartphone, Web).

Situation initiale

En 1984, un nouveau média s'est imposé dans tous les salons suisses: le Teletext. Cela fait maintenant plus de 30 ans que le Teletext a une place bien établie parmi les médias d'information en Suisse. Proposé autrefois uniquement à la TV, il est aujourd'hui également disponible sur le Web et les appareils mobiles. Avec un million de lecteurs et de lectrices par jour en moyenne et sa présentation pixélisée unique en son genre, le Teletext est certainement le média le plus culte de Suisse.

  • Depuis ses débuts sur les chaînes de télévision de la SSR en 1984, le Teletext est devenu au fil des ans l'une des sources d'information les plus populaires de Suisse.
  • Informations nationales et internationales, résultats sportifs, cours de la Bourse, informations routières et météorologiques; les informations selon la devise «L'essentiel en bref» sont appréciées par un public très hétérogène dans toutes les catégories d'âge. Un million d'utilisateurs et utilisatrices par jour en moyenne à long terme.
  • Début 2013, le nombre d'utilisateurs a atteint le chiffre record de plus de deux millions de lecteurs et de lectrices par jour pendant de grands événements sportifs comme les Jeux olympiques et la Fête fédérale de lutte suisse et des jeux alpestres ou pendant les votations à l'échelle nationale.
  • La diversité des environnements thématiques et de groupes cibles ainsi que la grande flexibilité et les publications toujours d'actualité offrent des solutions très intéressantes aux annonceurs et aux sponsors.
  • L'arrivée de nouvelles plates-formes de communication et d'information numériques et mobiles a entraîné une fragmentation grandissante des canaux publicitaires d'information et de publicité.
  • Utilisation différente des médias, notamment avec la tendance «l'information est à disposition partout et à toute heure».
  • Les nouveaux canaux ont permis au Teletext d'offrir à ses utilisateurs la possibilité d'avoir accès aux contenus non seulement sur l'écran de leur TV le soir, mais de plus en plus pendant la journée, au bureau (sur PC) ou en déplacement via leur téléphone portable.

 

Objectifs / exigences

  • Transfert des avantages (USP) du Teletext en tant que plate-forme d'information et de publicité vers les nouveaux canaux /services numériques.
  • Fidélisation des utilisateurs et annonceurs existants et acquisition de nouveaux utilisateurs et annonceurs.
  • Utilisation des chances offertes par les nouvelles technologies et la combinaison de plusieurs canaux (cross media) pour créer de la valeur ajoutée pour l'utilisateur final et les annonceurs.

 

Altes Handy

SMS.

Website von Teletext

teletext.ch.

Handy mit der App

Smartphone.

30 ans 
3 transformations
Processus

Sur une période de 30 ans, le Teletext a subi trois transformations numériques. Les nouvelles possibilités technologiques permettent au Teletext de toucher les lecteurs non seulement sur le petit écran, mais aussi dans le monde entier.  En fin de compte, les PC et les appareils mobiles sont eux aussi de petits écrans de télévision. 

  • Premiers services selon le principe «Exploiter les nombreuses nouvelles possibilités techniques» permettant des textes plus longs, des photos, une présentation et une navigation complètement différentes.
  • Admettre que «plus» n'est pas forcément «mieux».
  • L'utilisation sur le nouveau canal en ligne est resté limitée et le Teletext TV classique a continué à être le canal le plus utilisé.
  • Très grand succès du service d'information par SMS dès son lancement grâce à la limitation technique à 160 caractères mettant en valeur l'avantage du Teletext, «l'essentiel en bref», via des demandes simples ou des abonnements confortables.

 

  • Percée avec la stratégie «898cross» dont la présentation élargie est identique au Teletext classique à la TV sur tous les canaux. Obtenir les informations désirées grâce aux mêmes numéros de page, via la télécommande de la TV, le clavier ou un écran tactile. Et tout cela avec la présentation pixélisée déjà culte. Transfert des forces principales vers les nouveaux vecteurs numériques: simple, rapide, pertinent car il va directement à l'essentiel, toujours d'actualité et au bénéfice d'un haut niveau de crédibilité.

 

Teletext auf TV und Handy

TV et smartphone.

feature image

L'utilisation des services en ligne a été multipliée par dix en l'espace de très peu de temps.

feature image

Le Teletext, «l'essentiel en bref» toujours disponible pour l'utilisateur final, partout et à toute heure; facilement et rapidement.

feature image

Les annonceurs peuvent s'adresser à leur public cible «partout et à toute heure» et même de manière «interactive» via les canaux numériques.

Beat Schneider

Votre interlocuteur

Beat Schneider
Responsable Vente & Consulting
  • Téléphone: +41 32 329 22 57
  • E-mail:

SWISS TXT
Newsletter

S'inscrire

Ne manquez aucune news du monde digital.